Am I Bitter??

So as I have gotten older I have found that little things about relationships bug the crap out of me. I am not the super mushy clingy person and I have found that people who are… annoy me. They don’t even have to be mushy towards me. It can be me hanging out with a couple of friends (I’m the 3rd wheel) and if they start with the pet names  and all that jazz… I am instantly annoyed. I can be listening to a friend tell a story and if it gets mushy… I have automatically checked out. So I was griping about this to my mom and then a thought hit me “OH MAH GAH I SOUND REALLY BITTER!!!” So then I had to ask my mom. “Am I bitter?? I’m not bitter am I? I don’t want to be bitter.” What does my mom do?? BUST OUT LAUGHING!!!! What the hell?!?!?!?!?! I’m having a 34 year old single crisis and you are laughing?!?!?!?!  What were her words “I wouldn’t use the word bitter…” Sooooo in other words I sound bitter. So now I am sitting here trying to figure out if its because I am single and have no one to be mushy with or is it because this display of over done affection really does bug the living shit out of me. Things that make ya go hmmmm. Here is my conclusion: I am praying that I am not bitter because no one wants to be around a Debbie Downer. I think part of the reason I feel this extreme need to roll my eyes at super sappy people is partly (a very small part) because I am single. Remember though… that plays a VERY SMALL TINY part in it. The other part is that I am just not a super sappy mushy person. But now Im wondering if that is something that I need to change. Should I be clingy?? Should I roll out nicknames like “Sugarplum, and squeezy buns” to the man that comes into my life?? Does my attitude towards the over done affection play a part in why I am STILL single( going on year 4)??

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

