Happiness

In high school  I never dated. I had crushes but guys didn’t like me. I was REALLY awkward and handled it by just keeping to myself. The guys I liked never liked me back or they did like me until they found out I wasn’t easy. I had my first kiss my freshman year in college and so on and so on. I am 34 and have had 2 boyfriends my entire life. I can count on one hand how many people I have slept with. I haven’t had the most stellar dating life. I am really picky but the guys that I have dated are NOTHING and I mean NOTHING like what I look for in guys. I basically settled because “someone liked me”. I always assumed that having a boyfriend would bring me this ultimate happiness. Now that I think about it… I was nowhere NEAR happy with the dudes I dated. I wasn’t even happy with the handful of guys that I have slept with. So now I am in Brooklyn,single, and basically starting over in all aspects of life and I have learned to find my own happiness. (Best year and a half of my LIFE) I have to be happy with myself before I can be happy with someone else. I have to be able to make myself happy before I can make someone else happy.  I have found so much happiness in life the past year and a half and I am doing it BY  MYSELF. There is no man making any of this possible. I have also figured that dropping my standards will not make me happy either. So I will continue to keep my high standards and be happy with my life until the RIGHT ONE comes along. I am not perfect by any means and I have some things that I still need to work out in my life… like budgeting… Where the hell does my money go?!?!?!? **scratches head in confusion** Oh yeh… Rent, takeout and OCR. Take out wins EVERY TIME though. I can order breakfast, lunch and dinner without leaving the comforts of my super fluffy pillows and quilt. If that doesn’t spell happiness then I dont know what does. But getting back on topic… budgeting is a weak spot for me. My attention span is also short. ADD is real!!!! Then there is my relationship with God that I tend to put on the back burner a lot. It’s not that I don’t have a relationship with Him. It’s just that I only give Him a little bit of my time instead of the FULL amount that is deserved. See I know my weaknesses. I know where I need to improve and I believe that is part of the reason I am still single. **Shrugs**  The other reason… I haven’t figured that out yet. All I know is that I will continue to be happy in this holding place. I will continue to explore and grow and evolve… Can I still order takeout morning, noon and night though???? Does anything about this post make sense? It all makes sense in my head. Its all adds up to happiness… THE END

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

