Thug Tears

So I don’t know if I mentioned this at any point but I am a nanny. I nanny a little boy who is 2 years old. My day consists of toys, toys, children songs, and more toys. Throw in kids nap time, meals and maybe a fit or two and that is my typical day. Well today Disney songs were on Pandora… Look it beats listening to Copa Cabana on repeat (Dont ask). The song that came on was from the movie “Lilo and Stitch”. I can’t lie you guys and tell you that I didn’t LOVE that movie because I LOVE LOVE LOVE that movie!!!  Well as this song is playing, I had a flashback to my senior year in college.  Lets go down memory lane shall we:

Its a Friday night and I have had a craptastic day at work and I think I may have bombed a test that I studied really hard for (abnormal psychology… HARDEST TEACHER EVER) The next two days were FREEDOM for me. So what did I do at 1130 at night?? I went to target and bought the Lilo and Stitch II. Its totally what you do when you have the first one. I get home and plug it in. Now picture a 25 year old woman sitting in the middle of her living room floor still in work clothes and eating a giant bowl of popcorn. Well its almost the end of the movie and Stitch basically dies. OH MAH GAH you would have thought someone shot my dog!! I was sitting in the middle of my living room SOBBING because I thought Stitch was dead. ITS A CARTOON… and me being the mature 25 year old that I was just started SOBBING. I called my boyfriend and he was freaking out “What happened?? Are you hurt?? Did something happen at school?? I can’t get to you babe!!! Im on base( military guy)!!! OH DAMN WHAT HAPPENED?!?!?!” After I was able to control the hiccups and sobs I was able to manage “Stitch died!” and then started wailing all over again. Here is what happened after

Boyfriend: Wait…What?!?!?!

Me: Stitch died **more sobs and hiccups**

Boyfriend: As in the cartoon?? Are you shitting me right now??

Me: Im serious!!! **wiping snot and tears and still have hiccups**

Boyfriend: I can’t believe…

Me: Oh wait never mind he lived!! THEY SAVED HIM!!! **laughing through my tears** Ok gotta go bye!!!

Lets fast forward to today: I busted out laughing and the little boy looked at me like “WHAT THE HELL?” I like to remember that day as me shedding thug tears. No grown woman sobs over a dying cartoon character. So I will chalk it up to “Thug tears” and call it a day… Does that make me strange? Is this why I am still single?? Because I can tell you now every time I see that movie and it gets to that part;I still get a little weepy. I don’t sob anymore… My eyes just tear up a little bit.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

1 thought on “Thug Tears”

Leave a Reply

