Love

This journey of being single has been teaching me a lesson about loving myself… Flaws and all.  Im flawed… Hell we all are. Not now one of us is perfect by any means. The trick is to make the best of what you have and who you are. I tell this story all the time but growing up it took me YEARS to be comfortable with who I am. I went to all white schools and had all white friends. All the black guys seemed to like all of the white girls or girls that were lighter than me, had “good hair” or… just anything but me. I wasn’t fast. I wasn’t super outgoing. I was shy… still am at times, and I was awkward (SUPER AWKWARD). Even in my 20s I was still not really happy with who I was and my look. It wasn’t until I reached my 30s that I said “SCREW THE WORLD I LOVE ME!!!!”  I love that I am different. I LOVE my chocolate skin and I am even starting to not freak out when I get darker during the summer. I now see it as this really awesome bronze to my already dark skin. I love how my hair is nappy and twists and turns. I love my hazel eyes and how you can see everything you need to see through them. I am geeky, I am weird at times,and I am goofy. I have a super short attention span. Im bad with budgeting. I am flighty. I act quick without thinking of all of the consequences sometimes( Gotten myself into a few doozies). Im athletic and non athletic all at the same time. I have a tendency to over indulge on junk food. I also have a tendency to be standoffish and introverted even though I am extroverted… Im an extroverted introvert. Does that make sense?? I am slightly pigeon toed. I have cellulite and would rather live in cut off sweats and tee shirts than regular clothes.  Guess what?? I STILL LOVE WHO I AM!!! God made me this way for a reason. There is someone out there that is the carrots to my peas, the PB to my J,lemon to my ade, the bubbles to my beer, the grilled to my cheese… you get where I’m going.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

