Its About That Time

As most of you know I am really into OCR (Obstacle Course Racing). I started in 2008 with the Warrior Dash and haven’t stopped. Its addicting. The weird thing is that I hate running.I.HATE.IT!!!!! I am slower than a snail sleeping in chunky peanut butter. I DO NOT have the drive to run over 5 miles. Why?? My attention span is short. After mile 5 I have mentally checked out. Busta Rhymes and Kris Kross are no longer motivating me to “Give me some mo” or “Jump Jump”. OCR is sort of different though. It’s anywhere from 3 to over 15 miles of running BUT there are fun stupid crazy obstacles that break up the monotony of my feet hitting the pavement. By the time I am ready to start looking at butterflies and 4 leaf clovers, an obstacle is there for me to overcome. It could be a mud pit, hurdling over a wall, hurdles, barbed wire, ANYTHING!! I have done warrior dash, Original Mud run, Spartan races, and foam runs. And this year I am adding a ragnar ( I think thats how you spell it) relay to my check off list. Next weekend my OCR season starts up again and it starts with where my journey first began… Warrior Dash. Im excited because I am running with a good friend of mine. This year I have to cut back on the amount of races that I do due to trying to budget… HOWEVER if I find discount codes or deals its GAME OVER!!!! I cuss and curse the creators of these damn races the entire time I am running but when I cross that finish line I have such a sense of accomplishment that I immediately hit my laptop to register for more. These races also keep me from blowing up like the marshmallow man from Ghostbusters. You all know I like to eat.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

