That One Question

The question that I get asked a lot is “So when are you getting married and having babies??” My question is: Why are you so concerned with my marital status and Uterus?!?!?! Why does it matter. Can’t you embrace my singleness with me?? Do I look like I need a man and a kid? I watch kids for a living so I am really not in a rush to have my own. Then I get “But you are getting older” Ok and your point?!? Let me be happy embracing my fun, no attachment life!!! I am at a point in my life where I am really not trying to please anyone. I am FINALLY at a point where I think “You know what?? This isn’t so bad” Sure all of my friends who are my age and YOUNGER are happily married with 1.5 kids or 2.5 or whatever. Sure they get to netflix and chill(the for real chill) on a regular. Sure they have someone to ask “Hey babe how was your day?” Sure they just have someone there. BUT I can guaran-damn-tee that they don’t get to sleep star fish style in bed surrounded by ALLLLL the pillows. I bet they don’t get to just get to go out on a whim just because “To hell with it I want to!!!” Did I mention sleeping starfish style with all the pillows already?? I’m sorry but that is a HUGE selling point in my “Great being single booklet” Do I want to get married? Yes. I’m not going to rush it though. When the time is right it will be right. Do I want kids? Sure… wait… As long as its before Im 36. I don’t want to be an old ass mom. I want to be able to keep up with my kids without throwing my back out every 15 minutes. (For those of you who were older when you had kids; MORE POWER TO YOU. Its not me though). If you want me to get married and have kids so badly then why don’t you hop on the “TEAM SINGLE IN BROOKLYN” bandwagon and find me a great guy?? (Please consult with me first so I can give you a list of what I am looking for mmmk?? Thanks)

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

