Music

The people that are closest to me know that I LOVE music. I always have. I grew up listening to a variety of genres. I remember rocking my moms Sting and the Police cassette in my strawberry shortcake boombox when I was five( Yeh I was THAT super cool kid). I listened to hip hop, R&B, Rock, classic rock, funk, old school, and a LOT of jazz. When I hit jr. high I was introduced to punk and grunge. Music gives me life and I cannot function without it. It can hype me up for a great workout, get me ready for a night of dancing with friends, calm me down from wanting to punch someone in the throat, make me remember the past and sometimes put me in a zone to where I am imagining my future. My dad is a musician and ALL of his friends are musicians soooooo music has ALWAYS been a part of my life. I can NOT play an instrument though. I have ridiculously long fingers so everyone thinks I can play piano… I can’t. I have no musical talent. I can’t sing either… Ohhhh but I try really really hard when I am alone. (I know I am not the only one. Don’t judge me). Right now I am listening to Esperanza Spalding. All of her albums give me my entire life back. OH MAH GAH!!! The girl is AMAZING and her new album has me jamming day in and day out. I LOVE jazz. It makes me happy and it relaxes me. I can thank my dad for that. Listening to jazz on pandora is like being 10 again and going to his gigs when I didn’t have a baby sitter. But back to what I am jamming right now. Esperanza Spalding is AMAZING and I had the pleasure of seeing her live in Prospect Park last summer. Hoping I can catch another concert and soon. You know who else I want to see in concert?? Gregory Porter.  Are there any fellow music lovers out there?? Does anyone have something I need to get hip to?

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

