Will I Be Ok

Today I had a thought… What kind of wife would I be? Would I be a good mother?  Being a nanny and seeing all of these families and their relationship puts me in the “Magical world of make believe” sometimes. I day dream a lot and its fun to think about what my future would be like. I am a pretty low key person or at least I like to think that I am. I have never considered myself high maintenance. I keep  things simple.  People always say that opposites attract… hell Paula Abdul even sang a song about it.  Will the guy for me be organized, super rigid and complicated? Will he be the serious one since I am the goofball? I have to be honest… I am not really feeling that. I need someone that is like me in some ways and different in others but not so different that it would make me want to throat punch them. Then I think about when I meet that someone and we start a family. Will I be a great mother?? Will I lose my shit over the smallest things? Will I mother the same way that I nanny or will I turn into that mother that I TOTALLY do not want to be? Here is the conclusion that I have come to: The guy for me is going to be AMAZING. I have no idea who he is, personality, what he looks like, or what he does. All I know is that he will be perfect for me. As far as me being a mother: I think I will be a great mom or at least I hope so. I can imagine my brood (no more than 2) running around with the most amazing afros and big smiles. HA!!!

Then I check back into reality: I didn’t have to share my takeout with anyone. I am sleeping with all of my pillows and my AC on high. My hair is not combed and I look a HOT MESS right now. So I guess I will embrace my single state and find the joy in it because once THE ONE comes along… my selfish food , no combing the fro, no sharing pillow days are OVER.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

3 thoughts on “Will I Be Ok”

Leave a Reply

