Crutches

Last night I had a chance to sit outside and chill with one of my roommates. There may have been wine and margaritas involved… but thats besides the point. We had an AWESOME conversation. One of the things that I said was “Don’t use a crutch if you don’t need it.” I know it sounds funny but here is where I am coming from. For 11+ I was friends with a guy. Not just friends but you know… “Friends” Basically we were each others crutch. If I was single then he was there for me and if he was single then I was there for him. I was literally in  love with this dude for YEARS! I loved a man who never loved me. Never made time for me unless it suited him. Never treated me like “I love this woman”. I was treated like a side piece. And I was just happy that someone wanted to be with me so I accepted it. Can we stay STUPID!!!! For some reason I thought I needed super  jerk to make me feel whole in a way. SAY WHAT?!?!?! Yeh… Just so I wouldn’t feel alone, I settled on being a side piece. A few years ago I cut him out of my life ALL TOGETHER and it has been the BEST years of my LIFE!!! I finally let go of the “crutch”that I never needed in the first place!!! It was like I was making myself handicapped when I was a totally healthy person!!! Is this making sense?? I promise I am sober right now. Do NOT settle for less than what you deserve people!!! DO NOT settle to be someones side piece!!!! Be happy in your single state!!! Learn to love yourself!!! When the time is right for you to meet your other half then it will happen. ** I am totally taking my own advice on this since I have a tendency to settle**

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

4 thoughts on “Crutches”

    1. The thing was… I realized I didn’t even need this dude. I just thought I did. As soon as I booted him out of my life all together, a HUGE weight was lifted off. Best decision I have ever made. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t need anyone. Just make sure its the RIGHT one because the WRONG one can suck the happiness out of you before you even know what is happening.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

