On My Grind

Ok so my OCR season officially started in March. It started with the Warrior Dash and then the Spartan Sprint in Houston. My NorthEast season starts this weekend and I could totally pee my pants… I am THAT excited!!! I am racing by myself again so we will see how I measure up to Houston times.  I have been going hard at the gym… Wait… I can’t sit here and tell you that lie. I didn’t work out all last week because the week before that I went to NJ and had my ass handed to me at a OCR class. I did good but I was on the verge of puking about 10 times in a matter of an hour. I started back on my game Saturday, Sunday and worked out yesterday as well.  Today I will probably hit the gym again. Tomorrow is a no go because thats hair braiding day and laundry. (Those two take a life time to complete) Hell braiding my hair is an entire arm workout.”How did you get your arms so buff??? Do you lift weights??” Nope its called “braiding this thick ass head of hair”. I am excited for the challenges that await me on Saturday. Spear throw, rope and the rig are my enemies BUT I really want to have a burpee free race on Saturday. If I can crush the rope climb then that will be the icing on the cake. Last year at Citifield was my first time to really attempt the rope. With the encouragement of some awesome teammates, I made it within a few inches of the bell… and then my body literally shut down. I couldn’t make my body move and had to burpee out. This time I plan to ring that damn bell. Spear throw is hit or miss. Some people make it EVERY TIME… I am not one of those people.  The “rig” is what I refer to as “Satans monkey bars”. It is a true test of upper body strength and mind.   The cool thing about this race is that it is an ass whooping and a half without mud. I am looking forward to taking the race DOWN. I am looking forward to the bruises and the awesome feeling of accomplishment. I accomplish something new at every race. The main thing that sucks about Citifield is all of the freaking stairs that we have to run. Its like stair master hell. Last year I didn’t want to see another set of stairs after that. What a kick to the head when I had to walk up and down stairs to catch my train and then stairs to get into my apartment. My legs basically shot me the middle finger and gave out on me when I made it to my room.I couldn’t move for almost 2 days.”MAN DOWN MAN DOWN!!!!” If you see me walking funny on Sunday it will because I got into a fight with a few walls, a rope, a giant cement ball, LOTS of stairs, monkey bars, box jumps, a heavy ass jump rope, a spear, water jugs, sand bags, etc and WON!!!

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

3 thoughts on “On My Grind”

Leave a Reply

