The best Kind of Torture

This weekend basically consisted of one very important activity. CITIFIELD SPARTAN SPRINT!!! I was ready… sort of. My original plan was to run ONE lap. ONE ONE ONE!! A friend of mine was like “Im running with RWB at 2. RUN WITH US!!!” I was like “Uhhh sure ok. Im racing at 8:30a so I should be cooled down and ready to go by 2” That first lap around, through, under and above Citifield kicked my ass!!! OH.MAH.GAH. That race was NO PUNK but I finished in good time and only had to do 60 burpees. The damn rope and spear throw. I swear they greased that rope before the race started. I always miss spear throw but I NAILED everything else. There were so many damn stairs you guys. I was so damn sick of stairs by the end of that race!!! It took me just under an hour and half to cross that finish line. I came in 15 out of 40 in my age group. GO ME!!!! My body was SHOT but I ran into so many of my friends!!! I said hi to everyone and then walked over to the bar with some friends from my running group. That lead me to my friend Stephen who finished his race before me. I had one drink, a few bites of left over pretzel and the fries that he didnt finish.  I talked him into staying and hanging out. “Stay please!!!! Just till 12:30 and then you can go.” He huffed and puffed but we had BOTH decided that we WERE NOT running a second lap. SCREW THAT!!! We met up with more friends who were running with RWB at 2p. 12:30 came and went and 12:45 struck and then it was “Run with us. You are running. Go suit up” Wait… what?!?!?!? How did this happen?!?!?!?! Stephen blames me and I blame him. To make a long story sort of short… We ran lap two. I did better strength wise but time wise sucked because my body literally said “SCREW YOU!!! I HATE YOU!!! Giving you a leg cramp right now heffa!!!!  I moaned, griped, cursed but I FINISHED AND made it  up the rope since I failed it on lap one!!! I walked away with two medals, one shirt, and crazy leg cramps. Went home, took the hottest shower on the face of the planet, climbed in bed and the next thing I know… Im KNOCKED OUT!!! Mouth was open and everything all before 9p!!!! What sucked is that I couldn’t curl up in fetal position. I had to sleep like a board because the minute I tried to bend something… cramps would set in IMMEDIATELY!!!! I woke up this morning and all I could do was stare at my ceiling. It took forever to get moving but I did it. Now I have two giant bruises on the backs of my legs and I’m walking like the tin man. I also have great memories because RWB was the BEST TEAM to run with EVER!!!!  Now… I am done racing until JUNE!!! How am I treating myself for my birthday?? Running the toughest sprint there is. YES!!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This race was no joke. When I race I ALWAYS race for a purpose. Whether I am running for someone or taking a stance, every race is for a purpose. I have dedicated races to Black Lives Matter, Sandra Bland and a good friends mother who had passed away. This race was for two people that I am very close to. Vera  and  Talbot are two very special people to me and I will continue to race in their honor. Life is throwing them a curve ball but I know God has everything under control and will help them beat the odds.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

1 thought on “The best Kind of Torture”

Leave a Reply

