Beauty

Growing up I never felt beautiful. It took a while for me to move past that and find my own beauty. I struggled with acne and just the regular awkward things that teens struggle with. As a young adult I hid behind LAYERS and LAYERS of makeup because thats the only way that I felt beautiful.  I am now 34 going on 35 and man have I grown. I still have my moments but for the most part… I LOVE ME. I love everything from my big nappy hair to my rich mocha skin. I love my freckles and my hazel brown eyes. I love the woman that I have become inside and out. When I work I keep my hair tied back or under a hat, no makeup and my clothes are pretty shapeless. I’m at work. I am a nanny so me dressing in my best clothes and wearing makeup is kind of weird. Clothes are ruined because Im running and rolling on the floor. There is play doh and cooking and all kinds of stuff that just do not do well with being “beautiful”  while working.  The thing is that I do not feel ugly. I feel amazing and I am confident in who I am. My bosses tell me that I should showcase my beauty. I feel that people should be able to see the beauty in my eyes or my smile or the way I talk. When I go out for a night of fun I will play up my eyes and add a little blush to the cheeks, hell I might throw on a dress and heels. When its just me time, I feel most beautiful when my hair is BIG and free. I feel gorgeous without  makeup and just walking in a tank top, jeans and a pair of old converse. I feel beautiful letting the sun bring out the golden bronze tones in my skin and letting the freckles dance across my face. I feel beautiful just being in my natural element.So my question is what makes you feel beautiful?? What makes you feel like you stand out in your own way? What makes you a queen of your world? What makes you feel like you? I would LOVE to hear from everyone.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

1 thought on “Beauty”

Leave a Reply

