2 Year Mark

Well that does it kiddos. I have officially been in NYC for 2 years!!! I still love it here!! In a few weeks I will be 35… OH MAH GAH!! My mom asked me how I feel about where I am in life. I feel good. I know I could be doing WAY better in certain parts of my life but I have basically just been LIVING. It took me years to LIVE… I mean really LIVE and I AM LOVING IT. I remember in my teens and early twenties I figured I would be married with a high powered career and NO kids by now. I was going to be a doctor living in NYC and at the top of my game. Lets fast forward shall we. I am going on 35… I am not a doctor, I am not married nor have I ever really been in love. I have accomplished two things on that list

  1. I live in NY
  2. I don’t have kids

I am happy though. I do not ask for much. I am a fairly simple person and I am ok with that. I have been blessed with an amazing career as a nanny.  I have been blessed with a few great friends (thats all you really need). I have been blessed with health. I have discovered that I am semi athletic and from someone who was NOT athletic growing up that is AWESOME. I love the woman that I have become and I still have room to grow spiritually, mentally, and financially. I think the only thing that nags me every once in a  while is that fact that I am STILL single. I LOVE being single but I have my moments when I wouldn’t mind sharing ONE pillow with someone else. Yesterday while driving 3 hours to Charolette I was listening to Esperanza Spalding (LOVE HER) and I was totally relaxed. Out of nowhere I thought. “I would love to one day just be able to curl up with my boyfriend/fiancee/husband on the couch, listen to jazz and talk music all day.” I figure right now God is still working on me. He is not going to give something that I am not totally ready for. I am ok with that. I am ok with continuing to learn and grow and figure things out. I am ok with walking around the city and taking everything in that I can because I know one day is going to be the day when I have to give up my single, bed hogging, not sharing takeout, no hair combing, spread eagle bed days. The day is coming when I have to give all of that up **sheds thug tears** 2 years in NYC and going on 35… Man I can’t wait to see what this year holds for me.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

5 thoughts on “2 Year Mark”

Leave a Reply

