Same Story Different Day

I am going on 35 and I am STILL single. Its the same ole story but just a different point in time. I have been single for 4 LONG years. Most of the times I do not mind and ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT and then there are times when I am like “This sucks!!!” I figured by now I would AT LEAST be in a steady relationship. I figured by now I would MAYBE be engaged?? I figured by this point that there MIGHT be someone in my life… besides me and work. But NOPE. Then I have to wonder. Is it me? Am I doing something wrong? Is there something wrong with me? Am I giving the wrong vibe?? Am I being TOOOOOO picky?? I’m not a bad person, I love Jesus, I am somewhat athletic, Im tall, funny when I want to be, sarcastic, stable, not mental and have a great career. Im educated and love to read and LOVE music. Im adventurous, LOVE all things food and I would like to think that I have a good great big heart. Why am I still single?

Here is the deal. I never really thought about it until like the last year or so. I never had an issue. But its like when you hit 34 everyone expects you to be in a relationship or married or have kids ANYTHING but being alone because for some reason you are not normal if you are 34/35 and alone. Now everyone is like “You should be dating. You need to get married. 35 is your year!!! Is it?? Is it really?? If I am honest… I thought 27 ,28,29 and 30 were going to be my year and we see how those years went. I have done more in my time while being single then I have ever done when I was dating. Granted I have only had 2 boyfriends but whatever. Am I picky?? HELL YES!! You have to be these days!!! I can’t just give myself to ANYONE!! I figured MAYBE I would meet someone through racing because there are hot guys EVERYWHERE and they are half  naked… But they are all TAKEN!!! FREAKING REALLY?!?!?!  All these yummy men and not ONE of you is single?!?!?! **throws hands in the air** I have done every dating app, every website and was even in a few OCR single groups on Facebook… I’m STILL single

I think I am just letting everyones words get to me. Everyone has these expectations of where I should be and what I should be doing but in all honesty… Their expectations and opinions DO NOT matter. I have to continue to live my life for me. I have to continue to do me and be happy. My day will come soon enough and if it doesn’t… Then I am totally ok with that. I am totally fine with being the super cool granny in the nursing home sporting a purple velour track suit ER’DAY with my bedazzled hat, light up wheels on my walker, and  glitter SAS shoes. Everyone will say “Watch out for lil granny over there… She will grab your booty and not think twice about it.” HA!!!

 

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

1 thought on “Same Story Different Day”

Leave a Reply

