Clinging to a Cloud

So I have been on an Eryn Allen Kane kick. Her music is AWESOME and it has been in constant rotation lately on playlist. One of her songs is called “Piano song” and one of the lyrics that always gets me is “Sometimes clinging to a cloud aint as easy as it seems. Sometimes clinging to a cloud ain’t as easy as it seems. But we try… Ohhh we try” Personally I think I cling to a lot of different clouds and its like they slip through my fingers. I guess my clouds would be day dreams. I day dream a lot… at any given point I will mentally check out and go to my mental happy place. You should totally try it sometime because it really helps with stressful days… but thats besides the point. My clouds are, happiness (true unconditional happiness) love, and life.Lets  break this down shall we…

Happiness: Happiness the true unconditional happiness. A happiness that is not affected by what is going on around you or in you. Its just a constant state of joy no matter what. There are no conditions that determine what makes you happy. You just wake up and are happy and filled with joy. This is a cloud that I cling to because there are times when I let outside environments and situations affect me . But then I wonder is there such a thing as unconditional happiness?

Love: Ahhhhh the “L” word. Not just any love but that deep love. A love that no matter what is still there. Unconditional love. I guess I see this love as “Finding my one true love” Yeh I know I lost my thug card just now but whatever. Everyone wants to be in love and find that special person at some point in their lives right?? I can’t be the only one. I love who I am and the wonderful black woman that God has created me to be but I would LOVE to share that with someone!!! At the same I wonder if that kind of super awesome deep love really exists. Im like the last person out of my group of friends. ER’BODY is boo’d up, married, has a kid, kid #2 on the way, buying houses together, vacations together, and Im here like “So ummm I ordered take out, watched a movie and signed up for another race”

Life: Life is a cloud. You cling to it and ER’BODY wants the best life EVER but life is not a guarantee. You have all of things that you want to accomplish in your life time but you never know when its your time to go. You want the best for you life but there is always someone out there who wants the opposite for you. As a black woman its kind of scary. Never know who is gunning for you this day and age. Never know who thinks your life does not matter. I want to accomplish so much in this life time and so I will continue to keep grabbing at this one cloud. The other two come second to this one right here.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

