Dumb/Smart Decisions

What up good people of the blogging world?!?!?!?! It has been a hot minute since I have had something to say. I have had a ton of things to say just no time to say it. This past weekend was one of the craziest things I have ever done in my ENTIRE LIFE!! Remember a few months ago when I posted “WTF did I just do??” Weellllll this weekend was that weekend. I ran that damn ragnar trail relay race with 7 people just as crazy as I am. I dont think any of us were in our right mind. We signed up to camp out for 48 hours and relay run 24 of those hours. Do you know how messed up in the head you have to be to do this?!?!?! Huh?!?!?! Do you?!?!?!  It rained the whole damn weekend and it was never above 60 degrees outside. Im so happy that I loved my team . My team was EVERYTHING !!!  I am going to map out my journey from Thursday to Saturday with words and pictures.

Thursday: Bridget picks me up from work and we drive the hour and something minutes to a random spot in the mountains of NJ. It was cold and it was raining and we asked “What the FUCK are we doing” NUMEROUS times on the  way to the site. We arrived around 9pm and set up a mega tent IN THE RAIN!!! We hung out with equally crazy runners and figured we would try to get as much sleep as possible… Sleep didnt happen.

1. Because we would catch the giggles and crack up for 15 minutes

2. Some people we were walking by flashing their flashlights

3. It was raining which meant rain in our tent

4. Drive by acorning

5. Basically laying on rocks.

Friday Morning

We wake up at the butt crack of dawn to get dressed and ready to run. The rest of our team shows up so more tents were set up and everyone tried to get situated. It was still freezing and still raining. Our first runner was Carlos. Carlos is AWESOME!!!

img_1684
This is Carlos

 

Carlos was first to run the Green Lap which was basically 4 miles. Green lap was the shortest lap but had the highest elevation gain. After Carlos ran his green lap, it was Brandon’s turn to run his yellow lap. Yellow lap was basically 6 miles and not a ton of elevation but it was very technical. Technical meaning there was a ton of rocks, boulders, and roots to navigate. Brandon was our encyclopedia of ragnar running. Brandon also had the driest humor EVER and it was HILARIOUS!!! I do not have any pictures of Brandon. After Brandon it was Nicole’s turn to run the red lap. Red lap was the longest at about 7 miles. Not much elevation but it was SUPER technical. IT.SUCKED!!! After Nicole finished she had to pass the bib to me to run my green lap. Mind you its cold, its raining and I am ANGRY because it is cold and raining.

So I hit the trails wrapped up like I was going to be in subzero temps. After mile one I had to stop and peel out of my layers.  I came out of 2 shirts, one zip up, a hoodie and my knee brace. My black ass was MELTING in all of that!!! When I crossed the finish line my friends were like “We were screaming and cheering for you but you didnt even look our way. You just BLEW through and you looked mad as hell.” I was like “BECAUSE I WAS!!!” After I ran, Larry ran. Larry is a running BEAST!!! He is a super freaking nice guy, super funny and has a TON of athletic and body knowledge.Let me also add that this man had me laughing non stop!!

After Larry it was Bridget. Bridget and I do all of the OCR stuff because plain running is super boring. This is the reason we were like “WTF are we doing. Bridget pulled through like a champ for real though!!! Bridget is the goofy person that has to have a picture for ER’THANG!! Love her to pieces.

After Bridget it was Pedro. Pedro is a BEAST. Homeboy basically broke his foot 2 weeks ago while racing. He still came out and was determine to run his first lap which was 4 miles. He did 4 miles in the cold and rain while wearing his medical boot!!! WHO THE HELL DOESE THAT?!?!?! This dude!!! The only thing he complained about was not being able to run all of the laps… Unlike me who complained bout doing ALL of the laps. HAHAHA

So after Pedro ran his laps, it was Eve’s turn. Eve was our team captain. She put everything together, mapped out who ran what and had shirts made for us. SO AWESOME!! Eve is a ray of sunshine even when she is pissed off. Even the one who got us to do this was like “WTF am I doing?!?!?! Im not about this life!!!” HAHAHAHAHA!!!

Evening time we had a little time to unwind and try to rest while our team mates were running… Not much though. It was hard to sleep because no one could get warm, We were all laying on rocks, the rain was leaking in and it was just crazy. So then night time starts rolling in. Thats when I started to flip out. It wasn’t because it was dark. It was because it was dark and we had to run through the woods with nothing but headlamp and flashlights to light our path. Mind you there had been MULTIPLE BEAR SIGHTINGS!! Im sorry did you say bears?? As in Baloo  the friendly disney bear or the “for real I can eat you in one bite” bear. It was the chew you up and spit you out mama bear… with her 3 cubs. WHAT THE HELL?!?!?! I literally had a mini panic attack.

So before it was my time to head out, I prayed and I am not talking about a little prayer either. Then we won these cool marshmallow roasting forks. When it was my time to run I FREAKED OUT. My team took my sweats and hoodie and the next thing I know I was screaming: “Where is my fork?!?!?! Give me my fork?!?!? WHO HAS MY GOT DAMN FORK!?!?! I NEED MY FUCKING FORK NOW!!! I GOTTA GO!!!!” I hit the trail at 9 something at night with two head lamps, a flash light and a marshmallow roasting fork for protection.I basically ran 7miles with a freaking marshmallow roasting fork. This is not a joke people.I was FOR REAL!!! I figured if I couldn’t blind the bear then at least I could throw him the fork so he could figure out how to use it later.   I made it all the way to the forest clearing before I had a break down. I stood there not moving for 5 minutes!!! Then I ran back to where I could see camp and waited until I saw other runners approaching. About 1 and half miles in, something in my foot popped when I slipped on a rock. It hurt to run so I limped my way along. A lady named Kelly stopped for me and stayed with me for the remaining 6 miles of the race. About 3 miles in a big ass tree branch snapped in the distance and hit the ground rolling. I almost peed my pants right there on the spot!!I just KNEW a bear was after us!! OH LORD WHY?!?!?!?! TAKE ME NOW JESUS!!! Kelly laughed and calmed me telling me it was just a branch. Just a branch??? Did you hear that bad boy hit the ground?!?!?! That was a bear giving us warning!!!! I finally made it out alive and headed straight to the medical tent where they informed me that nothing was broken and that I just had an inflamed tendon.So they just had me ice it and take two aleve. Larry headed out after me and ran his lap. Bridget went after him. Larry went back out after Bridget to run Pedro’s lap. Yooooooo Larry was so damn delirious when he got back. He couldn’t even talk in full sentences!!! We all basically tried to get as much sleep as possible because we were all sooooo over this race by this point.

Saturday Morning

We found out that Nicole had to bounce because she broke out in Hives REALLY BAD. Brandon took her spot though and ran her leg of the race after his leg. We were all so damn delirious at this point that we barely knew which way was up!!! We finished the race by 1230p!!!

This race tried to break me in half!!! I have never dropped so many F Bombs in my LIFE!!! I have never wanted to curl up and say “Jesus take me now” more than I did Friday night. I did however learn that my body can handle way more than I thought. I learned that I really am terrified of bears. I learned that when I am scared that I talk A LOT!! I also got to see real team work. I got to see love and I got to make some new friendships. Will I ever run this again?? HEEELLLLL NO!!!!! HELL.TO.THA.NO!!! NOPE!!!NOPE!!!NOOOOOOOPE!!! AIN’T HAPPENING! I dont know any other way to say NO!!! Now I am in my bed refusing to move, do laundry or clean because my blankets and pillows are HEAVEN!!!

img_1737

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

