Sexy Adulting

NEW YORK NEW YOOOOOOOORK!!!! You can totally picture me singing that in a show tune voice because I just totally sang it out loud!!!! I have spent 3 New Years here in NYC. Wait… No this will be my 3rd year. Basically I make the same New Years resolutions every year… BORING!!!!! My 2 1/2 Years in NYC have been spent NOT ADULTING!!! I have done everything BUT adult!!! I haven’t really felt like an adult either. I’m 35 but nothing about me screams 35 except for my birth certificate, a bad knee that pops and jacked up ovaries. Right now as I type I look like a teenage boy: baggy sweats, a hoodie and a beanie.

My bank account should be PHAT!!! I should be STACKED with money… My bank account is so damn skinny!!! It’s malnourished as hell!!! The only adult things I have done is pay rent,pay the few expensive bills I have, and work. Everything else… Not adult. Hell my living situation isn’t even considered adult. So now I have two goals for 2017

1. Be a real adult

2. Learn how to be sexy

Yes “Be sexy” is on my list. Let me explain. I have come a long way in my confidence department. A looooooooong way. I’m happy, I don’t think I’m ugly ( long battle) and I’m pretty confident for the most part. Here’s the thing. I have three modes

1. Work mode: not cute, everything is covered in marker, food or vomit from the kids, and I don’t care

2. I’m going out. Let me fluff the fro and put on red lipstick to be cute

3. I’m running a race. Let me put on concealer and eyeliner so I don’t look like a dude.

Nothing about these three modes screams SEXY!!!! How do you do sexy? What is considered sexy??? I think it’s a mindset. I have this quirky, sarcastic bubbly semi anti social personality. It’s cute. No matter how I dress or look my personality is going to scream “cute” I always kind of come off as the homegirl. How do I change that?? This is something that I am going to figure out for 2017. SEXY ADULT HERE I COME!!!!!  Kind of hoping 2017 also brings along a boyfriend as well. LORD HEAR MY CRY!!!!

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

