There’s My Sign

So today was a pretty awesome day in the most low key way possible. My entire weekend has been the ultimate low key and I LOVE IT…Maybe a little too much. Anyway today was church. I’ve been meditating but haven’t really felt God move. I’ve heard him tell me to “Shut it ” a few times but that’s it. I tend to run my mouth when pushed. God reaches me in a number of ways. It just depends on how He feels is the best way I’m going to receive it at the given time. It could be through a song, a joke, a commercial or a really horrible holiday movie on Netflix. Look he knows my attention span is short so he has to reach me any way possible when he can. Well today he used my pastor. Andi Andrew!!! Why did I just feel like the announcer on the Price is Right?!?!?!?!? Andi Andrew COOOOOOMMMMMME OOOOOON DOWN!!!!” Whatever I got sidetracked… See short attention span. ANYWAY today God basically said ” Sat down somewhere and listen here” Now Andi is this tiny white ball of amazing energy. She always has a smile and a sarcastic sense of humor.  She’s awesome!!! She’s kind of like… Drew Barrymore of Liberty Church. She’s tiny quirky, always smiling and what do you know she kind of favors her too. Whatever… I got sidetracked again. Today she was in my head. Like God had her all up in my koolaid. Let me elaborate.

1. Being patient. Waiting: Now as we all know I am a super patient person… Most of the time… Ok some of the time. Some things I am ok with waiting forever for. Like my better half… Yeh I’m still waiting. But when it comes to other matters I have the patience of a tick. There have been some things that God has basically told me He has under control and to just chill. Me being the pest that I can be  am like ” Soooo is it done yet?? Am I getting yet??? Like I know you said you’ve got it but like… When exactly is it coming?? Is it in the next week because I mean…You know.” Yeh I got schooled on that today andGod was like “I TOLD YA!!!”

2. Isolation verses solitude. So I am an introverted extrovert. I am extremely introverted and am totally happy blending into walls and not talking to people… NO PEOPLING!!!! But with friends and some family I am very extroverted. Very hyper and will talk you to death. But for the most part I’m kind of happy living in my head. Well I got schooled on that today and then on top of that my mom told me that I need to live outside of my head a little bit. Yeh yeh yeh God already pushed me about that. Basically he can’t use me if I’m isolated. Isolation is self protection from others where solitudes prepping you for others. I have been turning my solitude into isolation. 

3. Tune in. So I can be kind of an a-hole at times. My mom knows and she will tell you. “She’s sweet but she’s an asshole” So Andi basically schooled us on how Jesus listened to EVERYBODY… ER’BODY. I listen until I get annoyed. At that point I tune you out. If you work my nerve then I’m not listening… At all and sometimes it shows one face. I can’t tune out

4. Be in the moment. Be in the now. I tend to want a day, an hour, a week, even a month to end early!!! Needing to get past the suck and move to something new. But when you rush life you miss out on the now. You miss out on what God wants you to experience and see in that moment. At that point of time God could be trying to work through you but you are so focused on trying to move past it that you totally miss it. This basically goes with number 1. I need to stay in the now. I tend to try to rush life. I try to rush moments. “For the present is the point at which time touches eternity” 

I’m going to be replaying this in my head for days to come. THANKS ANDI!!!!!!

Oooooh I just got God Smacked
It’s cold and boots and tights are a must
Scarf and mittens. Mittens and scarf
Caffeinated God in a cup!!! YES LAWD
Black girl Magic on point

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

1 thought on “There’s My Sign”

Leave a Reply

