Finally

I AM ALL MOVED IN!!!! This is the continuation of an amazing journey. My time in NYC has been awesome and I can’t wait to see what this new chapter unfolds. What do I think will come in this new chapter??

  1. New sense of responsibility
  2. Happiness
  3. More social
  4. Sense of self

So lets begin shall we? Responsibility. I know I know you are saying “You are a grown ass woman why is this just now making you responsible?” Well I have an answer for you. NYC is totally different than any other place that I have lived. Its more expensive, more diverse and did I mention MORE EXPENSIVE??? Let me repeat… ITS FLIPPIN HIGH AS GIRAFFE PATOOTIE to live here!! That means I have to be careful with how I spend my money because just as fast I can get it… it can slip through my fingers. Take out and uber are the culprits. Since living here in NYC I have had roommates. Nothing has really truly been mine. Now I have my own space with my own things and real high ass rent. For the area that I am living in and the amount of space that I have… its actually a great value.

Happiness: Like I stated before I have my own space with my own things and its decorated how I want it to be done. Im not sharing pots and pans, dishes, glasses, bathroom. toilet paper… NOTHING!!! I don’t have to worry about anyone else. “Am I using the space when they need it??” ” Will my cooking bother you??” “Damn it someone is using my bathroom right now!!!” “Who used the last of the toilet paper and didn’t refill it!!!” I don’t have to ask the questions anymore. I am a loner and soooo proud of that. Some would say I can be antisocial… and I kind of am but whatever. I love having my own space and freedom. When I am in someone elses space, I am constantly worried about things and basically never leave my room because my room is my living space…safe haven.” Being able to spread out and be free from the confines of shared living space is AMAZING!!! My attitude won’t be stank anymore!!! YES LAWD!!!

Social: Ok so remember when I said that I am kind of anti-social?? Its the truth. “But you are in NYC!!! You should be a social butterfly!!!” Yeh yeh yeh. I am now comfortable with having people come over and spend time with me. Living in other peoples space that I wasn’t really happy with… meant I didn’t really want people to come over and see. First apartment I lived in was in a not so great neighborhood, the roommate I had was weird and she kept the apartment NASTY!!!! WHAT. IN.ALL. HELL?!?!?! Like I would leave for work for the week and come back and the same dishes would still be in the sink, she left her dirt ring in the bathtub, her hair would be everywhere, and it was just gag worthy!!! Who wants people to come over to that??? Just to sit in my tiny room and watch movies on my laptop?? Uhhh no. Second apartment was shared with 3 guys. Started out great but my room was TINY!! The kitchen was always nasty, someone was always there, they were loud and partied all night, bathroom and toilet paper…I can’t even describe how awful that was. Their girlfriends were RATCHET!!! Oh and they were total pot heads who never paid the internet/cable bill. I never wanted to be in the living room because there was always someone in there and it was NASTY and did I mention that they were total pot heads already?!?!?!?! NASTY POT HEADS at that. Third apartment started great. It was massive and a decent space. Then it kind of went downhill. People constantly in and out, use of AALLLL of my toilet paper, Could only use living area some of the time because again someone was always in there. It even smelled like a ton of people had been in there. Again I was basically living in my room. Who wants to invite someone over just to sit in the room and watch movies via lap top?!?!??!?!?  Now I can have people over with no worries and I think since I am happier, I will be more inclined to go out and socialize😁.

Sense of Self: There is something about having all the things around you that represent who you are. Things that show your personality, taste, and little pieces of you. Being able to spread out and really be who you are. Does that make sense? Its a sense of peace. There is no more chaos, no more noise. All thats left in this new space is me and only me. I can meditate, pray, let go and let God with out interruption.

I am so damn excited about this new journey and can not wait to navigate my way through. It is truly a blessing.

7ce06a3f-d637-4330-b737-331180a3d884
Moving on up
img_3136
… because I can
img_3137
LOVE MY BROOKLYN
img_3160
Bring on the adventures baby!!
Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

2 thoughts on “Finally”

Leave a Reply

