**Sigh**

Hey Uncle Allon. I know you aren’t here with me physically but I know you are still with me. I just wanted to say Happy Birthday. I haven’t cried today and thats ok because I still have a few hours left in my evening. The night is still young!!! Can I just say that you were the coolest cat that there ever was??? I know you had your rough patches in life but I never saw those because… well because I wasn’t born during that time. I came later on You were the cool uncle with natural wavy hair and you wore it long. You were the cool uncle that wore sunglasses all the time. You were the cool uncle that had a swagger that no one could match. I never heard you raise your voice in anger. You could cuss someone SMOOTH out and knock them down a notch or two in the smoothest possible way.(Thats talent right there) You were the uncle that said “If they don’t like you… FUCK EM. You don’t need them anyway” You even had a cool laugh. You were the reason that I wanted my forehead to wrinkle when I was little. ( I now have a wrinkly forehead.)  You were the uncle that always called me “Slim” or “Red” You were just my cool ass uncle. You were the force behind me going to Italy. You were the force for me to step out of my comfort zone. I know you were with me on Monday because out of NOWHERE I got the biggest damn whiff of pot. I was walking and there was a certain part of the hallway that was HEAVY with the smell. It wasn’t coming from anywhere in particular but it was just one spot. It took me a minute to figure out what was going on because I was so confused. Then it hit me. “Hot damn Uncle Allon is here.” I sleep in your pajama pants at night. The blue plaid ones that you left for me. I miss talking to you. I miss your cooking and listening to you go on about someones bullshit that they started. I miss hugging you. I know you haven’t left me though. I still feel you every once in a while. I just wanted to tell you happy birthday.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

