So Basic

Hello blog world!!! Its me again. Can I just say that I had the most amazing low key weekend!!! OH MAH GAH!!! This whole living by myself thing is AMAZING!!! But anyway whatever.  This weekend I was social. Or at least I thought I was. My mom popped that bubble though. “Khrys being social is getting out and meeting people that you don’t already know. Not your community group honey” Really mom?? Thanks. So next weekend I will get… Like for real for real. I say that now but I know come Friday evening Im going to opt out. I can’t help it if I find eating boxes of lemon popsicles, while watching hallmark channel  the most amazing thing EVER!!!  Wait till I get my sofa… You are going to have to use a crow bar to get me out of this apartment!! HAHA!! My weekend has consisted of a few things

  1. Hallmark Channel and popsicles
  2. oversized sweats
  3. gym
  4. community groups
  5. Large amounts of junky food
  6. Reading

Hallmark Channel and popsicles: Ok first off hallmark channel has revoked my thug card. You can’t be a thug and watch hallmark at the same time. Im a sucker for a cheesy romance movie. Its bad yo!! BAAAAAAD!!My thug card was revoked a long time ago. Popsicles… Lemon ones at that are LIFE!!! I have cleaned two boxes in like a day and a half. I can’t help myself. I don’t know how to not eat them all in one sitting. How is that possible?? How do you only eat one popsicle?? Oh damn that’s right… It’s called self control and I have NONE!!! NONE!!! ZIP, ZILCH NADA, ZERO!!!

Sweats: Oversized hoodies and sweatpants are LIFE!!! Its the Jesus of clothing!!! Sweats are EVERYTHING and I have no idea how people live without them. I have two drawers in my closet dedicated to AAAAALLLLLL of my sweats. “Do I want the blue ones or the black ones?? Zip up or no zip up.  Hood or no hood?? Hmmm” I have two looks:  Super fly or super homeless… There is no happy medium.  I guess a happy medium would be my hair and makeup on point while sporting my sweats?? Who does that though?? Thats unheard of. Right now Im sitting here looking like I’ve been punched in both eyes because my eye makeup is all kinds of rubbed. HAHAHAHAHA

Gym: I have worked out in the gym two days this week. I’m slowly getting motivated again. If I don’t do something at the gym then I do something quick and easy at home or at work. My workouts in the gym aren’t long but they get the job done. I’m not this super hyper gym person. I used to be years ago but I burned out. I don’t want to burn out. Doing something because I HAVE to totally takes the joy out of it for me. I have a race in like 2 weeks and I am nowhere near top notch ready. I’m ok with that though.

Large Amounts of Junk: Ok so I am a sucker for junk food. I can pack junk away like a CHAMP!! Did you not just see where I ate one and a half boxes of lemon popsicles?? I have also eaten a giant bag of puffy Cheetos and finished a box of trix cereal. HAHAHA. The healthiest things I have eaten is some fruit, and egg roll in a bowl. Other than that… JUNK JUNK JUNK and I am NOT ashamed.

Community Groups: I am a part of two community groups. One group is discovering places to go and things to eat in NYC for under 5 dollars. Our first outing was the NY public library. IT was pretty cool but I wasn’t feeling all that well so I cut out early. Saturday I am a part of a community group that deals with social injustice and racism and all that good stuff that people like to brush under the rug. This group is brushing NOTHING under the rug!! We are bringing all of this crap out all while discussing a book called “Just Mercy”. I LOVE THESE GROUPS!!! Through these groups I am also building relationships and making friends. Like I am pretty sure that I would love to have everyone over at some point for a night of food and wine.

Reading: I LOVE LOVE LOVE to read. I love to read mindless stupid books and books that make me think. Im reading two books right now along with a bunch of mindless chatter books that I keep on my kindle to lighten my mood when I am feeling down or frustrated. I am happy curling up and reading a book. I am totally happy losing myself in characters and their situations. I am happy hopping into the magic world of make believe. Its way easier than dealing with real people.

All of this basically sums up every weekend for me. Every weekend you can find me doing everything that I just listed. It might not be in the exact order or a might skip one or two things but this is my standard weekend to do.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

