Quiet

Whats up fellow bloggers?!?!?!?!?! Im baaaaaack. Its been a world wind month/ month and a half. Work has been keeping me busy and I just haven’t really had anything to talk about. I take that back. I have had a SHIT ton to talk about I just didn’t know how to say it all. It was a lot. A.LOT!!! Ive been going non stop which means my mind has been in constant go go go mode. We landed in Nantucket and I got a whopping 4 days off. The past 4 days I have been determined to find QUIET. Its kind of hard when there is constant noise. Its also hard when you are that person with a really short attention span. Im used to my mind jumping from one subject to another. When things are too quiet for me, I start to get nervous. Its weird don’t ask.Quiet for me is plugging in my ear buds and listening to whatever I am in the mood for. Quiet for me is day dreaming about what could be and what I want or whereI want to be. Thats quiet for me. BUT I have been DETERMINED to figure out how to just sit in silence. Day before yesterday I ran the 1.67 miles to the beach… In the fog… by myself. I ran and then when I reached the beach I took out my earbuds and just sat. The only sounds were the waves hitting the shore. There were no voices… Only the sounds of God’s creations. I criss crossed my legs, closed my eyes and proceeded to try to find my quiet place. It took a hot minute. I get wigged out when things are too still or too quiet but I turned off my over active brain and focused… On silence. Yooooooo I FOUND IT!!!! I was able to tune out and center myself for I don’t know how long. It could’ve been 10 minutes… It could have been 30 minutes. All I know is that I was able to do it. OH MAH GAH it was amazing!!!! I tried to do it again today but there was too much going on around me. Tomorrow is my last day off so Im going to try to wake up early for another run to the beach so I can absorb the stillness.

 

OAN: Did you guys start singing the Bjork version of “Its ohhhh so Quiet… shhhhhh shhhhhh” BWAHAHAHAH I totally did.  Im a cornball like that.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I am a 30 something year old woman living in Brooklyn NY. I am originally from Dallas TX but do not see myself moving back any time in the near future. I have a love for all food especially when it can be delivered to my apartment. I love running OCR even though I am the slowest person out there. I have a short attention span (why NY is the ideal place for me). I am silly, sarcastic, optimistic, easy going and fun. I am also very single and I must say that I am enjoying my Single In Brooklyn life.

Leave a Reply

