Vacation Shenanigans Continues

VACATION MODE IS STILL IN EFFECT!!! YAAAAAS!!! Let me tell y’all about day two vacation mode!!! We all woke and had an amazing morning filled with coffee and a walk down to the dried up Lake Travis. Y’all… Lake Travis should be called “Rock Travis” There is little to no water in that bad boy. NOTHING!!! Dry!!! It was literally just dirt and rocks with a small patch of water.

Edna lead the way. We drove down and parked the car and she lead us to where she wanted us to walk. We walked down the rocks to where the water barely touched. It hadn’t gotten too hot yet so it felt really nice out. The sun rising and the sound of the water slapping the rocks was complete peace. COMPLETE PEACE!! Any and all stress that I was holding was instantly GONE!! Joy… I was experiencing joy.

After our walk we made a pit stop at the grocery store for last minute ingredients for the tiramisu. Remember the day before we grabbed some things at World Market but there were a few more things that we needed. I also grabbed a few things that we didn’t need because who really abides by a shopping list?? NOT I!!!! We made it back home and got to work. Neither of us had made this before but its a favorite and we were going to make this happen. And boy did we!!!! We separated, added, mixed, added more, mixed some more, added some magic (coffee liquor… a whole lot of it) and love. We created the best damn magical tiramisu!!!

We had to let it chill for at least 4 hours. Well SHIT… What do you do while waiting?? You make a run to the New Orleans snow cone stand right down the street. It’s over 100 something degrees outside so snow cones are A MUST!!! I am basic Betty when it comes to artificial flavored ice flakes. Strawberry and blue coconut are a MUST for me. If they don’t have these then I will do tropical treat but 99.9% of the time its going to be strawberry and blue coconut

“Chip has it been 4 hours yet?? Is it time to try the tiramisu??” He responded with “Its been maybe an hour Khrys… No!!!” Well shit!!!! What do we do?? LIQUOR STORE!!! Gotta get all of the fixings for awesome margaritas!!!! Yes please and thank you. It’s never too early or too late for a margarita. It’s 5p somewhere right??? Isn’t that what they say because I know for damn sure it what I say. We loaded up on fixings for margritas and I asked again “Is it time for tiramisu??” Again Chip let me down with “Khrys… No.” Well SHIIIIIT!!!! What do we do now?!?!?!?!?! It’s freaking hotter than Satans ball sack in a pair of gasoline undies lit on fire in the deepest pits of hell!!! WHAT DO WE DO?!?!?!? Well… You go find a spot in Lake Travis that actually has water and go for a swim!!! That’s what you do!!! Me and Chip loaded up all of the pool noodles, filled our giant TO-GO cups up with margaritas and headed out to the one spot of shaded water. Water temp was amazing!!! What wasn’t amazing is not being able to see my feet and feeling all of the water trees… lake plants… whatever you want to call them touching my feet. All I could think about was that part in the Little Mermaid (the first one) when Ursula had changed all those mermaids to weird creatures that grabbed at her as she swam by. Yeh I kept picturing that and in my head I was screaming “URSULA IS GETTING ME!!!!!”

We floated for a bit. Or we floated long enough to finish our drinks and then hopped out and headed home. Long enough to say “We floated/swam in Lake Travis” BWAHAHAHA!!! Now what?!?!?!?! SHOWER!!! Lake Travis isn’t toxic but its not the cleanest clearest lake. So an INSTANT HOT shower was mandatory.

We then sat in the living room and watched Tu Wung Foo!!! I mean why not?!?! I’ve only seen it like once in my life but it’s a memorable movie. While watching the movie, I put the pom Pom machine to use. YES the one I bought while drunk on day one. Baby once I got the hang of it, I was cranking out Pom poms like a gosh damn machine!!!! I made three sets of giant Pom poms!!! Why all of the poms Khrys?!?!?!?!?!? Ohhhh I am so glad that you asked.

ROLLERSKATING!!!! Yes the poms were made for our night of rollerskating!!! You can’t get me and Chip together and NOT have some kind of childish adventure. Best part besides the Pom poms attached to our skates was that we got his husband and two good friends to join our fun!!! We skated for almost 3 hours!!! My BIG WHEEL skate party childhood was brought back to life… FULL FORCE!!! We laced up added our poms and hit the floor for adult skate night. 90’s R&B and hip hop were in full swing. For 3 hours I was totally transported to the magical part of my childhood that was skating. There were some real pros out there. I was not one of them but I held my own. Marti was a speed demon. Chip coasted on the outskirts and their friends flew by. At one point the DJ called “FAST SKATE!!!!!” We all hopped off because… yeh we were NOT trying to be run over by people skating 90mph!!! Marti rolled up to me and said “Come on Khrys.Lets go. You got this! We can do it!!” Ok that’s basically saying “ I DARE YOU!!” I can’t say no to that. We hopped our asses out there and HO-LY HELL!!! WE kept up but GHAT DAMN my legs were burning!!! BURRRRRRNIIIIIING!!!! These were muscles that hadn’t really been used. My quads and hamstrings were singing soprano. JEEEEEZZZZUUUUUUUS!!!

Baby when I tell you day two of vacation was a TIME… BAY-BAY WEEEEE HAD A TIME!!!! It’s times like this that live rent free in my memories forever. FOREVER. FOR-EV-ER!!!!

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I was 30 something, single and living in Brooklyn when I started this blog. Now I’m 42, moved back to Texas and back to being single. I write a series of books for children based on a character named Bella. Bella and the Great Pictrure Day is the first book in the series. I am an introverted extrovert, love all things donuts and am just a regular ball of sarcasm and sparkle. Welcome to my world!! Sit back, relax and enjoy all of the profanity and shenanigans.

Leave a comment