Next Up… Still on Vacation!

Day 3!! LETS DO THIS! Day 3 of operation vacation was easy but still loaded with all of the fun. We all woke up stupid early. Chip wakes early because his body is just programmed that way. 5am every day. Me? My body was still on France time. It was cool to wake before the sun. Not because I had to but because my body wanted to. It’s so much easier to wake up early when its not mandatory. Go figure. It was another morning walk with Edna leading the way as always.

Edna leading the way… But first have to pee on all of the big rocks and trees.

I freaking adore that stubborn bag of fluff. I can not wait until I can get a dog. It’s gonna be great. That’s not what Day 3 is about though. Short attention span much??

Before we started the walk, we demolished ginormous pieces of tiramisu with amazing cups of the best Italian coffee. No complaints here. That’s one of the things that I miss about Italy… The coffee!!! We also felt the need to go for donuts. You can’t visit Texas and not hit up Shipley’s Donuts for fresh wondermous donuts. Now back to this coffee…LAWD JEEEEZZZUUUUUUUUUUSSSSSS the coffee is beyond amazing. Anyway Chip had planned an awesome day of visiting some of Austins best thrift stores and quirky Austin shops that fully support the “ Keep Austin weird” theme.LETS GO!!!

TIRAMISU AND COFFEE!!!!

The first store we hit was one of those fun”Austin stores. I LOVED it. I looked at every hat, pair of socks, tee, coffee mug, you name it!!! It was amazing. What wasn’t amazing were the damn prices. 30 bucks for a simple ball cap?? I THINK THE FUCK NOT. NOPE! Ain’t gone be able to do it. We went to a few other thrift stores that had amazing finds but THEM PRICES were NOT thrift prices. They weren’t astronomical per se but for a thrift store… Ain’t no way.

Oh oh oh we also went to another awesome amazing place… We went to the restaurant where they filmed Dazed and Confused!! We didn’t eat anything, but we did use their Photo Booth!!!!

After our thrifting adventure we went somewhere magical. “Where’d you go Khrys??” I’m so glad you asked!! We went to a place called Lala’s Little Nugget. It’s this small bar that is all and everything Christmas 365/7. Yeh… All day. ER’DAY is Christmas. Hallmark, Hobby Lobby, the Griswold’s, and Whoville threw up in there. It was awesome!!! Nothing matched and there were lights and decorations everywhere. Oh it was awful, tacky and magical all at the same time. We were the first ones there for the day. They opened at 4pm and we arrived at 4:03pm. There wasn’t a menu of drinks to choose from but Chip knew what he wanted: Deep Eddys lemon vodka with sprite. So I decided to just order the same thing and boy was that a good choice. We walked around and explored the bar, took pictures sitting Santa’s giant chair, screamed “SANTA” with Buddy the Elf, and also posed with the super creepy giant wax Santa. Oh it looked like it would come to life. Chip took a pic. I did not because it absolutely creeped me the fuck out. Y’all know my imagination is wild. There is no middle ground. All sunshine and rainbows or compete morbid fuckery. All I could imagine was giant wax Santa trying to murder me… Yup.

We finished our drinks, hopped in the car and headed home. On the way home I had Chip stop at a near by fast food place so I could get some fried pickles. I’d been craving them. We made a quick pit stop for my snack before heading home. Now part of the plan was to go to this cool Tex Mex restaurant but Chip said it didn’t make sense to pay a crap ton of money for what we could easily make at home for less than half. Yeh I was totally game. Sign me up for a good cheap home cooked meal. We bought the makings for loaded queso, chips, and everything to make guacamole. We made it home and hit the kitchen preparing everything. We got everything cooked and as I was penning a blog, Chip handed me a fresh tortilla that was stuffed with refried beans, queso, guacamole and salsa. Now weird Khrys fact: I don’t eat beans. I don’t like them and never have. I have a long dramatic but non traumatic story/reason as to why I don’t eat them. I’m not going to drag it out. I’ll save that for “weird Khrys Fact” blog. I was dreading taking that bite but he’d made it before I could say anything. So I took it and ate it. Yoooooooo! That was the most amazing simple burrito I’d ever had. After I demolished it in 4 bites, I said “Chip… I don’t eat beans. No beans…but this right here… that you made is gosh damn witch craft!!! Oh mah gah that was amazing and I need another.” I think I ate two more plus a massive bowl of loaded queso. After eating all of the food, we all settled in on the couches to watch a movie. We settled in on the classic “EVER AFTER” Its a favorite of mine. I’m a huge Drew Barrymore fan and that’s a favorite along with all of the Charlies Angel movies.

Day 3 was epic in a low key way and I loved every freaking minute of it. This vacation is shaping up to be The most epic of epic and I am ok with that.

Author: singleinbrooklynblog

I was 30 something, single and living in Brooklyn when I started this blog. Now I’m 42, moved back to Texas and back to being single. I write a series of books for children based on a character named Bella. Bella and the Great Pictrure Day is the first book in the series. I am an introverted extrovert, love all things donuts and am just a regular ball of sarcasm and sparkle. Welcome to my world!! Sit back, relax and enjoy all of the profanity and shenanigans.

Leave a comment